# PROCEEDINGS OF THE MACON COUNTY BOARD



# DECEMBER 05, 2022 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Kevin Greenfield Chairman Josh Tanner Clerk The meeting was called to order by the Clerk of the Board, Josh Tanner at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Tanner: Mr. Tanner read the Request for a Special Call Meeting: We, the undersigned members-elect of the Macon County Board, respectfully request that a special meeting be called for the purpose of organizing the County Board following the recent election. We ask that the meeting be scheduled for Monday, December 5, 2022 at 6 o'clock in the evening in the Macon County Board room, 141 S. Main Street, 5<sup>th</sup> floor, Decatur, Illinois. At said meeting, we request that the following agenda be addressed:

I. Call to Order - II. Opening Prayer - III. Pledge of Allegiance - IV. Presentation of Election Certificates by Members-Elect - V. Swearing in of Members-Elect - VI. Election of County Board Chair - VII. Election of County Board Vice-Chair - VIII. Final Action on the Ordinance establishing the terms of County Board Members after Reapportionment - IX. Drawing by Lot to determine terms of County Board Members after Reapportionment - X. Public Comment - XI. Adjournment.

Mr. Entler led the members in prayer.

All led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The credentials of the 15 elected members of the board were placed on file with the County Clerk's Office.

The Honorable Judge Rodney S. Forbes administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected board members.

#### ROLL CALL.

The Roll Call of the board as a whole showed all members present: Coleman, Entler, Goodman, Greenfield, Hogan, Horve, Kraft, Kreke, Larner, Little, Mattingley, Noland, Oliver, Scott, and Yoder.

#### **MOTION**

Mr. Greenfield moved, seconded by Mrs. Kraft to nominate Greg Mattingley as temporary chairman for this meeting by prior roll call vote.

There were no other nominations presented from the floor.

# MOTION CARRIED. (NOMINATION OF TEMPORARY CHAIR)

#### NOMINATION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE MACON COUNTY BOARD

#### **MOTION**

Mr. Mattingley moved seconded by Mrs. Little to nominate Kevin Greenfield as Chairman of the Macon County Board by prior roll call vote.

There were no other nominations presented from the floor.

# MOTION CARRIED. (YODER SHOWED HIS VOTE AS NO) (ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIR)

#### NOMINATION OF VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE MACON COUNTY BOARD

#### **MOTION**

Mr. Kreke moved, seconded by Mrs. Larner to nominate Linda Little as Vice Chairman of the Macon County Board

Mr. Oliver moved, seconded by Mr. Coleman to nominate Debra Kraft as Vice Chairman of the Macon County Board.

# **QUESTION:**

Mr. Greenfield: Mr. Greenfield asked how they would proceed with the vote.

Mr. Baggett: Mr. Baggett said the roll will be called and when their name is called they indicate by saying the last name of the nominee they wish to vote for.

# **ROLL CALL.**

**Votes for Linda Little as Vice Chairman of the board:** Entler, Greenfield, Hogan, Horve, Kraft, Kreke, Larner, Little, Mattingley, Noland, Scott, Yoder

Votes for Debra Kraft as Vice Chairman of the board: Coleman, Goodman, Oliver

LITTLE VOTES = 12 KRAFT VOTES = 3

#### LINDA LITTLE ELECTED VICE CHAIR OF THE MACON COUNTY BOARD

### **COMMENT:**

Mr. Greenfield: Mr. Greenfield said the next item is regarding taking final action on the ordinance establishing the terms of the County Board Members after Reapportionment.

Mr. Baggett: Mr. Baggett said for those who had not done this before, it has been ten years since this was last done. It is required by state law that after the Reapportionment and the organization following the reapportionment, the board terms must be divided by lot into segments. The ordinance prepared for them is in keeping with the way the county

board has previously divided itself, with one member from each district having a term of two, four and four. One member will have a term of four, two and four, and then one member will have a term of four years, four years and two years. So, this is required and will result in everybody being up for election in 2032, at one time, just like everyone was up for election this time. This is the procedure that has historically has been used by the county board. It is consistent and satisfies the requirements of state law. The first thing they have to do is determine how many will have two year terms and how many will have four year terms. He said they will have to address the ordinance and adopt it prior to actually drawing the terms.

#### MOTION

Mrs. Little moved, seconded by Mr. Kreke to approve Ordinance O-142-12-22.

There were no questions or comments from the board floor.

#### ROLL CALL.

Ayes: Coleman, Entler, Goodman, Greenfield, Hogan, Horve, Kraft, Kreke, Larner, Little, Mattingley, Noland, Oliver, Scott, Yoder

Nays: (None)

AYES = 15 NAYS = 0

MOTION CARRIED.

Mr. Tanner: Mr. Tanner said they will choose in district order and will draw in order of the number of votes they received. Mr. Tanner said there were three balls in the box marked with A, B, and C.

 $\textbf{District \#-} \quad \text{Goodman drew ball} - C$ 

Oliver drew ball – A

Coleman drew ball – B

**District** #2 - Hogan drew ball – C

Noland drew ball – B

Entler drew ball - A

**District** #3 - Horve drew ball – C

Scott drew ball – A

Larner drew ball – B

**District #4 -** Yoder drew ball – B Greenfield drew ball – A Kreke drew ball – C

**District #5 -** Kraft drew ball – A Mattingley drew ball – C Little drew ball – B

There was no old business presented at the meeting.

There was no new business presented at the meeting.

There were no officeholders' remarks presented at the meeting.

There were no citizens' remarks presented at the meeting.

# MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mrs. Little moved, seconded by Mrs. Larner to adjourn until Thursday, December 8, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

# MOTION CARRIED.

Meeting adjourned at 6:19 p.m.